Books Reviews

7 Popular Books for Teens and Young Adults to gift

7 Popular Books for Teens and Young Adults to gift

If you have young readers on your gift list this season, consider these young adult novels from Simon & Schuster Publishing that are great books for teens or gifts for their high school library! Let’s take a look below at each title!

Road of the Lost by Nafiza Azad – Perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince, this young adult fantasy follows a girl who discovers she’s spent her life under an enchantment hiding her true identity on her quest into the magical Otherworld to unlock her powers and discover her destiny until she is gifted a book about magick from the Otherworld. Buy on Amazon.

The With Haven (book 1) and The Witch Hunt (Book 2) by Sasha Peyton Smith – In 1911 New York City, seventeen-year-old Frances Hallowell spends her days as a seamstress, mourning the mysterious death of her brother months prior. Everything changes when she’s attacked and a man ends up dead at her feet—her scissors in his neck, and she can’t explain how they got there. The story of sisterhood, mystery, and interesting magic continues in book 2 where a new character is introduced. Frances travels to Paris with her friends to see if she is able to determine why her magic is suddenly going haywire. It is going to take all of them working together to unravel the mystery. Working with Finn may be the end of everyone. Buy on Amazon.

Bloodmarked, Book 2 after Legendborn by Tracy Deonn – The sequel to the New York Times bestselling and award-winning Legendborn. Bree wants to fight, but the Regents who rule the Order won’t let her. To them, she is an unknown girl with unheard-of power, and as the living anchor for the spell that preserves the Legendborn cycle, she must be protected. Buy on Amazon.

The Ones We Burn by Rebecca Mix – young adult debut about a witch whose dark powers put her at the center of a brewing war between the only family she’s ever known and the enemy who makes her question everything. This is an instant best-seller! Buy on Amazon.

The Do-Over by Lynn Painter – After living through a dumpster fire of a Valentine’s Day, Emilie Hornby escapes to her grandmother’s house for some comfort and a consolation pint of Ben & Jerry’s. She passes out on the couch, but when she wakes up, she’s back home in her own bed—and it’s Valentine’s Day all over again. And the next day? Another nightmare V-Day. Buy on Amazon.

A Path To The World by Lori Marie Carlson-Hijuelos – A book of essays from a variety of voices, backgrounds, and experiences, exploring what it means to be human and true to yourself. All speak to the common thread of humanity, the desire to be your truest self, and to belong. Buy on Amazon.

Books Reviews

Once Upon A Book Club for Young Adult and Adult Readers

Once Upon A Book Club for Young Adult and Adult Readers

Of all the book clubs I have experienced, this one tops them all. Subscribers of Once Upon a Book Club receive a newly released novel and wrapped gifts labeled with page numbers. As they read the featured book, they are prompted to only open the gifts when they reach the specified page number. And these gifts do not disappoint!

This is a book box from the Young Adult selection. The book that came was, The Lost Ticket. The gifts are below and are cleverly woven within the story so they really do make sense, bringing the story to life. Any reader is going to love their box!

You can shop for different subscriptions and collections, including seasonal choices. Make this a special gift for the book lover on your gift list this season. Shop Once Upon a Book Club today!

Books Reviews

Secret Seattle: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure

Secret Seattle: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure

Secret Seattle: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure is a great gift idea for the traveler or Washingtonian! This book has everything odd and true about the Seattle area – and Seattle is odd in many ways! I know this because I live here!

Besides the strangeness such as our Gum Wall and famous Elephant, there is so much interesting history and tradition. With the Secret Seattle: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure book, you’ll discover the unique destinations, colorful history, and wacky legends that make the greater Seattle area such a popular destination to live and visit. Like Almond Roca? Tacoma, Wa says, “You’re Welcome!”

About the Author

Mary Jo Manzanares is a lifelong resident of Washington State and spent 32 years as a flight attendant, eagerly sharing tips and recommendations about Seattle to inquiring passengers. Mary Jo is a frequent speaker at travel industry events, a member of the Society of American Travel Writers, and writes about her beloved Washington State at discoveringwashingtonstate.com

Secret Seattle: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure is available on Amazon now!

Books Reviews

The Boy Behind the Door: How Salomon Kool Escaped the Nazis book review

The Boy Behind the Door: How Salomon Kool Escaped the Nazis book review

The Boy Behind the Door: How Salomon Kool Escaped the Nazis is the true story of Salomon Kool, a Dutch teenager who evaded the Nazi dragnet and survived the German occupation of the Netherlands from May 1940 to the end of WWII. It is labeled as a young adult non-fiction but does tell a true story. This book will captivate young readers as they connect with a very traumatic historical event.

While German soldiers barged into his Amsterdam home in 1940, he managed to evade them by successfully hiding behind the door. Young readers will relive these terrifying moments for Sal and the rest of the story follows Sal as he navigates the aftermath of the war.

This is a great book for fiction readers and school libraries. You can buy this book now on Amazon.